How do bigger projects deal with C++ compile times?

Hey guys!

First, sorry if this is a newbie question or if there’s another thread for this, I tried to find one but couldn’t. I’m using UE4 for a couple months now and I’m a designer, not a coder, so I love Visual Scripting but I am also fascinated by coding. I’m trying to understand specifically how do several size teams deal with C++ compiling times. I’ve heard in the forum and AnswerHub some people saying their small projects take like 30+ seconds with each compilation. How does this scale to bigger projects? How to manage that?

As far as I know, if you have to wait this time everytime you wanna build, you either won’t test your build very often so you don’t have to compile again or you’ll be waiting and waiting like you’re playing Clash of Clans hehe. How do you guys manage compiling times? It would be nice to have someone from Epic talking about this issue in bigger games like Gears or Paragon.

Thanks!

https://answers.unrealengine.com/questions/3647/how-to-improve-compile-times-for-a-c-project.html?sort=oldest

Definitely fasterWithoutUnity that is mentioned. On my old PC it went from 3 mins to 15 sec from changing just one file.

Complex games can take a while to build. My advice: keep distractions at the ready. There are days where I spend more time waiting for compiles than I do coding. :slight_smile:

I’m outsourcing all the code which doesn’t absolutely need UObjects into specific static libraries which compile in a second.

It also helps if you can write a lot of code before compiling…

****** if you are debugging something and do not have much clue so you want to keep trying…

Thanks for the answer guys!

So that means that every time you code anything new, if you want to test it out you gotta wait for the entire compilation, which can take from a couple seconds to several hours depending on the size of your project?
Do you guys consider that a big problem, or it’s just an inconvenience?