How difficult would cross-platform multiplayer be?

First off, I am not a programmer. I understand the basics and the theory and all that, but the most complex application I ever made was a C++ app that gave you a random complement when you pressed a button.

I’m looking to find out how difficult it would be to make a cross platform multiplier game using Unreal. Specifically, PC, Mac, iOS and Android. If you need a gameplay example to determine the difficulty, think Fallout 1 or 2 with multiplayer. (I am not making a Falloutish game; It’s just the most popular game I can think of that works as an example in this case)

I am going to go ahead and assume Unreal does not natively support that type of thing, and that you would have to build some sort of host server that the individual clients connected to which coordinated the data. But like I said, I am not a programmer, nor am I looking for a how-to; I just need to know exactly how difficult it would be to make in your vastly more qualified opinions.

Thanks in advance.

No offense but when you go https://www.unrealengine.com you will see all supported platforms by unreal engine on the right side (+ Linux). UE has already easy to use network technology.

I know those platforms are supported. The question is not “can Unreal make multiplayer games on those platforms”, I already know they can do that, that’s a major selling point for me. The question at hand is “Can someone who is playing on a PC be in the same game instance as someone who playing on their iPad

If it was an FPS, the example would be: Can PC, Mac, iOS and Android users all play on the same server at the same time.

Sure. Like i said UE4 has easy to use network technology that works on every platform same way. You write client and server code in same project and can use same functions on both sides. http://wiki.beyondunreal.com/Everything_you_ever_wanted_to_know_about_replication_(but_were_afraid_to_ask)