How can I use Unreal engine to make Short Films?

I recently found that there are People who have created 3d short films with Game Engines. I am a character animator, and I saw that Game Engines Contain Real Time Rendering so I thought that it might be a better and less time consuming way to create a Short film. But I don’t know how to use it and what type of Character Rigs are accepted In UE . Can you please Describe How can I make this thing work. Thank you.

I couldn’t advise using a game engine to make short films, since that isn’t really what it is designed for.

It is possible to use the “Level Sequencer” feature to support cinematic moments inside the game engine, but there is nothing inside UE4 that will allow you to do fundamental things, such as Keyframing bones and character movement.

If you are looking to create short films, I’d recommend using a package such as Blender or Maya. This will actually allow you to keyframe character movement, and plot animation. You even gain access to things like simulation and higher quality rendering. It’s also much, much quicker to perform basic animation nessesary tasks.

It is then possible to export your animation into UE4, and use the “Level Sequencer” to plot Camera movement, but this is honestly just a much more drawn out, unessesary, and time consuming work flow.

UE4 will support many or even most rigs you provide it, but you wont have any control over those rigs once they are in engine, as they will have to include all of the animations beforehand, which you will have to do in a Program like Blender/Maya anyway.