How can I stop my character from falling off surfaces?

Hello
I didn’t post anything in the forums yet so before I describe my problem I’ll quickly introduce myself.
I am Eddy from Germany.
I am 26 years old and I had some ideas for video games for some years already.
So after school and all the exams etc. I tried to realize some ideas with several engines
and I came to the conclusion that the Unreal Engine is the best solution for me.

I am quite new to UE4 and I wasn’t able to find a solution for my problem in the documentation and the forums yet.
First I made some BSP boxes so that I can make it additive or subtractive
(for the case I want to add doors and windows or something) later.
I managed it to make some walls and ceilings and assign materials to it for a very basic looking mine.
So far my character is able to walk on the surface.
After doing that for a while I had problems with freezes since tons of actors use a lot of memory.
So I tried to export my work and import it as a single actor.
Exporting the FBX file and importing it to the project again worked indeed.
Importing the FBX file again creates a static mesh
and UE assumes the walls and ceilings are one actor instead of 4.
Having one actor instead of 4 improves the performance
(FPS and ms) and that also makes building a level a lot faster.
However, my character always falls down,
but it shall walk on the surface until it reaches the next level (for example an abandoned laboratory).
I am not sure if I just missed an option in the World Settings or Details tab or if I need to fix that with C++
so I am not sure if this is the correct sub-forum either :frowning:

So do you have any ideas how I can Stop the character from falling down
so I can actually walk through the mine?
Or do I need to work with the slower way and create BSPs like described above?
Thanks for your ideas in advance.