How can I make my AI do an animation and do damage?

Hello, sorry if this is an easy question, but I am new to the server. I am making a sort of zombie game with AI enemies. I have managed that the AI senses me and runs towards me. But now I am having trouble with the animation and damage. I want the AI to do an animation when he’s standing next to me and do damage at the same time. This is my blueprint so far:

Thanks a lot already :slight_smile:

First is there any particular reason why you are looping back from Setting health to Cast to Character?

Second do you want the zombie to deal damage to the player at a certain point within an animation?

Because i want him to run after me again when the damage is done or isn’t this loop necessary? I’d prefer that the damage is done when the animation is over

I’m sure for what you are doing it wont be a huge deal, correct me if i’m wrong someone, unreal runs separate event calls on their own threads. stuff like that can be dangerous and cause infinite loops. Though OnSeenPawn gets called every Sensing Interval that a pawn is within it’s sight range. If you click on the PawnSensing component and look under AI there is a Sensing Interval thats how often it checks for see / hearing something. if you want it to happen more often then make that number smaller, just don’t do 0 because it will stop updating. This way you wont have to do that dangerous loop back.

Second it normally makes more sense to people to take damage when they see the animation actually impact the player rather than before or after, but if you want it to do it when the animation finishes then we can get that working no problem.

• Since you are doing a move to, and waiting until success to attack, i suggest making the acceptable radius higher, otherwise the zombie will never make it to 100% right on top of the players location. Or you can turn on stop on overlap, that way as soon as they overlap it will finish success. I suggest using both.