How can I have a basic character movement setup instead of a free-flying camera?

I have quite a bit of coding experience – apps in java, tower defense games in swift, php, html, sql – yet I am quite new to Unreal and the like. I have been having trouble figuring out the basic movement of my character. I didn’t know what I wanted to make at the start, so I picked a blank new project with no starter content. I have made quite a bit of work on a map, but I cannot figure out how to implement a moving camera in first-person without the camera being able to fly wherever. I have tried to import FirstPersonBP blueprints from the first-person starter content folder to my blank project level, but it just doesn’t work.
I’m hoping this is a really quick fix, but I just can’t figure out how to use playerstart as a first person character instead of a first person flying camera. Any help would be awesome!
The only other option i was thinking is importing my map to a project that already has a pre-made first-person setting? In which case it still has the mechanical arms and shoots balls… which I couldnt figure out how to take out in the first place from my first-person projects. I know this might sound like a really lame problem but I could not find any tutorial videos or strings that talked about something this basic.

I added a picture of my unlit map just to show where the playerstart location should be, but if I try to use a first-person blueprint it does not change any of the movement controls.

Thanks for the help in advance,
Jake

Hi, Jake.

Try creating a blueprint as a Character and have these nodes. You will need to setup controls under Edit>Project settings> Input. You may also need to create a Gamemode and set the character as the default pawn if you haven’t already! You can do this by going to Blueprints>Edit Gamemode > Default Pawn set your player.
Walking Blueprint

Mouse input: