Houdini Velocity Grid Exporter

Hi, everyone!!

I made a digital asset which is able to export *.fga file from Houdini. Basically it does the same thing with the MayaVelocityGridExporter, except that you can now use Houdini’s powerful tools to generate the velocity field data. All you need to do is to wire the velocity grid exporter to your dopnetwork, specify an output path and press the export button. Current features include

• voxel resolution adjustment
  • velocity field data from particle/fluid simulation
  • frame range selection

Houdini Orbolt website download link:

https://www.orbolt.com/asset/::UE4_velocitygridexporter?show_login#

I’m new to Houdini and Unreal Engine. Also this is my first digital asset for Houdini. So any kind of feedback or comments are very welcome!

Enjoy and have fun all :smiley:

Is this a way to make the fields like in this demo video, around the 11 min mark?

Hi ,
Sorry to reply you so late because I was on a vocation ^^; For the the field you mentioned in the video, I think it’s not a problem to simulate that in Houdini. It seems like particle follows a spiral path. When I got some time, I can try to make a similar one in Houdini and use the tool to export the vector field then import that into Unreal Engine just like the video does. Once I’m done I’ll send you a sample file and you can try it by your own and see how it goes :slight_smile:

Sincerely,

Hi,
I made a simple simulation basically using the curve force in Houdini and make the particles followed a spiral shape like path. Then export the simulation result to an fga file and import into Unreal Engine 4. It may not seem exactly the same like the one showed in the tutorial video. But I think the idea behind is pretty much similar. Hope it helps. Thank you ^^

2014-08-25 15_27_25-test_vf_ps_.png