Hopeless?

For some time now, I have been imagining a universe full of alien races and adventure. Mysterious worlds and places full of possibilities. Eventually I thought it would be amazing to play a game in that universe, but it would be better with friends. So a massive multiplayer game for me and my friends to play in, and make it available for other players around the world to play as well. Make this game so incredible and full of content that it feels like a living, breathing universe that just exists whether you’re logged in or not.

The problem is that I’m not an experienced developer. I’ve dabbled with code and modeling. I understand game development, in theory, but have no real skill to stand on. Sure I can draw a little and have a crazy imagination, but how could that ever be enough to create a great game that takes place inside this crazy universe? The ideas are limitless, with me, but the skills… limited. Tragically so, I fear. What’s worse is that, as much as I don’t want to admit it to myself, I’m not young anymore. Did I miss that point in my life when anything was possible? The air could be full of “coulda,shoulda,wouldas” but that doesn’t help anyone.

The question is, am I hopeless? If not, where to start, where to go from here? How do I get something started while working 70 hours a week, already, at my mundane jobs?

Realistically, something like that is not within the capability of someone to do by themselves. It would take some years to develop the skills needed and after that there’s just too much work for one person. Building a team would be an option but that has a very low chance of working without funding (it’s hard even with funding)