Help with save actors and materials at runtime (save game)

Hi,
I’m new to save system, I’m trying to save materials that are changed at runtime.
Here, in my PC, I can drag&drop materials to components.

To retrieve these “changed” actors, I use tags.

Here’s my save event:

I think it works correctly, the print strings prints the right values, and the indexes from both actors and materials correspond.

Here’s the load event:

The issue comes from here.
If a load a save, only the first material is keep. I have the BP error: “Accessed none trying to read property CallFunc_Array_Get_Item_2” Node: Set Material

Here’s the print string result with 4 materials drop on 4 components:
Capture

If anyone can help… :upside_down_face:

If you’re going to use ADD, you need to clear the arrays before saving.

You’re just adding to the arrays in the save game every time.

I notice you do have some CLEAR commands, but then you don’t save it back to the save game.

Also, there’s absolutely no guarantee that getting actors of tag, or components will come in any specific order. It may be totally different after packaging, and be different every time you run it.

A much easier way to do this would be to make a blueprint that is aware when you change a material, and writes it to the save game. Each blueprint has an ID, it’s just an int.

On begin play, that blueprint finds it’s ID in the save game and loads what’s there.

1 Like

What do you mean by “aware when you change a material” ? And how do I do this ?

I will set something up, gimme a little while…

1 Like

colorz

Thank you!

For it to work, all the actors in my scene need to be in a BP with an ID ? because all actors in the scene can be material modified.

I’ve tried it with a Cube BP, with a slightly different setup since I drop material on actors without clicking on them. It kinda works, but it always says and saves the “Brick Bond Parquet” is on the actor, I must have made a mistake somewhere!