Help with Maya displacement

I have a high-res model and a UV’d low-res character mesh. Excuse the UV layout since I did a quick test of it. When I use Transfer Maps in Maya my displacement comes out like below. I think I need to use subdivisions or a cage, but I’m relatively new to rending out maps in Maya. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks!

Hey!

Have you seen this video?

[QUOTE=HaxO;159684]
Hey!

Have you seen this video?

I did see that, and I used the same steps which gave me the result above.

I get the same problem in xNormal too.

It looks right to me, though there’s probably errors on some things like the fingers and other parts where surfaces are really close to each other.

It looks right to me, though there’s probably errors on some things like the fingers and other parts where surfaces are really close to each other.
[/QUOTE]

Well Im trying to take a high res mesh and create a displacement from that, based on the UVs on the low res mesh. Is that not possible? I thought the workflow was similar to how to create normal maps.

Right, is the UV layout not what you set it?
The weirdness of the displacement map is because after it subdivides the mesh it has to push out the parts where it added more geometry.
I think though it looks like it would only work on a mesh without smoothing, so you might need to adjust the baking settings so that the low-resolution mesh has smoothing applied and accounted for when you generate the displacement map.

Right, is the UV layout not what you set it?
The weirdness of the displacement map is because after it subdivides the mesh it has to push out the parts where it added more geometry.
I think though it looks like it would only work on a mesh without smoothing, so you might need to adjust the baking settings so that the low-resolution mesh has smoothing applied and accounted for when you generate the displacement map.
[/QUOTE]