Download

Help with inhertiance in C++

Hi all,

I’m relatively new to C++ (I’ve done a fair amount of Java beforehand) and I’m majorly struggling with inheritance. All I want to do is run the GenerateWordData() function in the code below in a different class but I can’t, for the life of me, get it to work.

#include "ThirdPersonCode.h"
#include "WordBank.h"
#include "Engine.h"

UWordBank::UWordBank(const class FPostConstructInitializeProperties& PCIP)
	: Super(PCIP)
{
	WordArray.Add("Test");
	WordArray.Add("Spoons");
	WordArray.Add("Shoes");
	WordArray.Add("Potato");
	WordArray.Add("Green");
}

void UWordBank::GenerateWordData()
{
	RandWordNo = FMath::FRandRange(0, WordArray.Num());

ActiveInputString = WordArray[RandWordNo];

for (int i = 0; i < ActiveInputString.Len(); i++)
	{
		GEngine->AddOnScreenDebugMessage(-1, 5.f, FColor::Red, FString::Printf(TEXT("%c"), ActiveInputString*));
	}

}

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Regards,

acidrainlte

Where are you trying to call it from? Do you have an instance of your class created? Essentially, the only functional difference between Java and C++ here is that Java doesn’t have pointers. If you have a pointer to your instance, the way to call it would be:

myWordBank->GenerateWordData();

If you want to call it on an object rather than a pointer, then it’s just like Java

myWordBank.GenerateWordData();

If you want to call it from within your class, then you just call it the way you would a C function:

UWordBank::UWordBank(const class FPostConstructInitializeProperties& PCIP)
	: Super(PCIP)
{
	GenerateWordData();
}

Make sense? Or did I misunderstand the question?

Its difficult to know what’s wrong without knowing the error. Reply back with the compiler output and we can better help you!