Download

Help with BP communicating with UMG HUD widget

I’m new to UMG and I’m still learning this new tool.
Basically I have a UMG HUD created in my character, I need this HUD to display variables from a BP spawned at run time.
Basically is a timing system BP, spawned at run time in the level blueprint, that should send to the HUD stuff like lap time and other race related infos.
How should I do this?

There are a few ways to do this, I usually set a reference to my blueprint when creating the UMG, and then from the UMG, I can access the blueprint’s variables.

Ok, so I should set a reference to my timing system BP to access its variables from my HUD widget.
How do I do this? My timing system BP is spawned at begin play from the level BP.
Do I need to create a timing system BP referenced object variable in my HUD widget?

Create bind on your GUI element and link them to your pawn/actor by casting Get pawn owner through the event graph of your GUI

Ok I will try as soon as possible.

First of all: LevelBlueprint for this is a bad place. The LevelBlueprint is not easy to be accessed by other Actors.
Better use the “GameState” class for this. You can always use “GetGameState” in your Widgets and access the Timer.
You can create your own GameState Blueprint Class and set it in the GameMode default classes.

In the GameState you can again use the BeginPlay Event and spawn the Timer Actor. Then you directly save the return value
of the SpawnNode to a Variable, so that you have the Reference you need. Then you can access it by getting the GameState,
casting it to your Custom GameState and accessing the variable.

You may also think about creating and saving the Widget in the GameState. Then you can pass the reference when creating the Widget.
Variables in widgets can be set to “Editable” and “Expose on Spawn” which will show them directly in the Create Widget node.
Same goes for Spawning Actors.