Help with an Audiosurf style "lane system"

Hey, I’m trying to create a game in which you move between lanes, similar to Audiosurf.

The game is aimed at a young audience, so I’m aiming for simplicity of moving between set points rather than having full range of motion.

So far the only way I’ve managed something similar is using A and D to with “set actor relative location” - which doesn’t appear to be relative at all, or at least not in my understanding. It teleports the player to the set coordinates in the world - this means if I set X:0 Y:400 Z:0 - the player moves back to the X origin, instead of not moving on the X at all.

Is there a way of moving the player relatively?

My goal is having the player press A to move the player 400 Units on the Y axis, relative to where the player is, and pressing D to move the player -400 on the Y axis.

Help would be greatly appreciated.

I’m by no means an expert with blueprints, so I dunno why “set actor relative location” wouldn’t work as you want it (can’t test it right now) :confused:
But what you probably could do is use “Set actor location” and use “Get actor location” with a vector addition to add/subtract 400 in Y as input? :slight_smile:

I came here to say the same thing, that should work.

Thanks, that worked flawlessly! Now I just need to get the camera to stay in place, as it’s quite jarring having the camera move lanes too.

Much appreciated.

I haven’t had time to experiment, but would a camera blocking volume in the left and right lanes achieve what you’re after?

Thanks for the reply - that didn’t work, it essentially just pushed the camera close to the character.

I’ve realised the camera is a child of the character, which is why when the character moves, so does the camera. I haven’t found a way of un-parenting the camera.

I’ve attached an image of the game, hopefully that helps explain.