Help with advice on how to layout a level

Hi UE :slight_smile:
This is my first time posting to the forums but I’ve been lurking here for the past month looking at tutorials and trying to understand all the moving parts to making a game. I don’t feel like I’ve learned or integrated much so I’m just going to start simply with placing static meshes next to each other. Is there any detailed pro tips on how to lay out a full level besides the Alt + Click drag to duplicate a mesh? Do you use snaps to move but remove snaps for scale and rotate?

More questions below after thinking about what to ask:

For example, do I start with floors and stairs first? or maybe walls and where lighting will filter in first? or maybe a large piece in the center and build outward?
How do I make it not look repetitive? I saw in the Sun Temple level a varied wall mesh at .375, .5 and .75. Is that standard practice?

Or maybe I’m over-complicating this and players wont look at all the seams and ceilings?

So far I’ve tried to greybox and static meshing the Sun Temple, the Blueprints Level and I’ll try replicating the Elemental Demo next week. Still no idea how to get lighting to look good but I’ll reserve those questions until I’m more experienced.

Thanks for any words of wisdom.

I am no expert, but I have a few thoughts on the process; and some questions that might help you. Take them with a grain a salt.

Questions:

• What is the end use of the level?

• Are you just doing a render inside UE4 or do you intend to use this for game play?

I ask because this will impact your level design. Obviously if you are just doing a render your placement of assets is based on lighting and the camera angles you intend to use. If you intend to let players into the level, then before you go laying out the level you should know how the player intends to travel through the world, are they driving a vehicle, flying; does it involve climbing or ledge grabbing etc…