Help with a puzzle mechanic.

Hi All,

I am a total noob. Been working with the engine for maybe 6 months to a year, but retention and comprehension on making tutorials applicable to my specific projects has proved more than difficult.
so if i sound like an idiot… sorry.

Anyways,
I have a set of 4 torches, what i would like to be able to accomplish is lighting the torches. When all 4 of the torches are lit (in any order) a gate opens allowing you into the next area.
Kinda feel like there is a really simple solution to this.
I sort of figured out how to make the fire and a pointlight spawn on button press but right now its in the level blueprint,
But im not too sure how to go about connecting the blueprint of the torches, and make it open the gate.

Thanks,

Austin

Hi,

I think you should set a Boolean that checks if a certain torch is on or off. Where you implement your ‘turning the torch on/off’ logic, set a Boolean to True for each torch you turned on (eg. isTorch1On, isTorch2On etc.). At your door/gate opening logic, just use an AND Gate (I think the node’s name is AND Boolean). You plug your ‘isTorchOn’ booleans into the AND Gate and it will only return true if all of the plugged in values are true. You check the output, and if it is true, the door/gate opens.

I hope I could help a bit.

Awesome!
Question though, would the logic be done inside the level blueprint, or would i individually make torch blueprints then connect them somehow?
I genuinely hope that you didn’t explain that previously, and that I’m not wasting your time.

If you have anything you’ve done like this previously an image of how it might work would be insanely helpful?