Help: Unreal Engine for simple Scientific Visualization

Hello everybody, not sure if I am in the right section of the forums (sorry mods), but I need a little advice.

I am a student and I work with molecular dynamics simulations (simulate interactions of thousands of atoms, Molecular dynamics - Wikipedia). I know fairly well Python, C and C++, and I need to write a program that, given a text file with all the x,y,z coordinates of atoms, shows these atoms in space.
I know there exist libraries and programs that already do this (like Ovito or VMD), but I wanted something that works on all platforms (Win, OSx, linux, but also on mobile devices).
I thought about Unreal Engine only because of my need for a multi-platform development, and I know that what I have in mind is really simple and rude, like killing a fly with a shotgun. But I am honestly tired of writing code on, say, Linux, fighting with libraries, make it work and then have to rewrite everything from scratch for another OS.
Basically what I need to do is a “game” with a starting menu where you can load a file from a folder and then a visualization windows where all the atoms drawn in space (just many spheres), with controls on parameters like lights, colors, textures, while the scene can be zoomed, dragged around and rotated. Something like what the program Ovit does (http://ovito.org/).