Help pls: How to animate a Skeletal Mesh Actor with Blueprint?

THIS QUESTION IS NOW SOLVED. Read down for a description of the problem and the solution. Thanks! :slight_smile:

Hi everyone! :slight_smile:

I am a 3D artist by trade and am a bit new to Blueprints and Anim Blueprints in UE4. I’m trying to achieve what seems a pretty simple goal of getting a Skeletal Mesh Actor to play it’s animation in game using an Animation Blueprint, but sadly I can’t work out how to do it. :frowning:

So here’s exactly what I am trying to do. I have a Sci-Fi air conditioning fan / vent built in my 3D modeling program. It is a simple Skeletal Mesh with 3 Bones: root, fan 1, fan 2. The main body of the fan casing is weighted to the root, and the two fans are weighted to the bones fan 1 and fan 2. Bones fan 1 and fan 2 have a looping rotation animation.

So all I want to do is to make the Fan Skeletal Mesh into a Actor Blueprint that references the Anim Graph and the fan spinning animation, so that I can just place this rotatiing fan any where in the level and have the anim play continuously, without having to manually assign each anim to each Fan .

Heres the Fan Skeleton set up:

Heres the Fan Anim Blueprint, which seems to work fine:

And heres as far as I have got the Fan Blueprint itself:

Now i know I am missing something, something that will actually get the Anim to play, but i dont know what. Please help, thanks!

Note: I am aware that Environment Assets with simple animations such as this can also work as Static Meshes with animated components in Blueprint, but I need to be able to achieve this functionality with Skeletal Meshes for various reasons, primarily the need to make complex machinery environment props, too complex for animating with multiple static meshes.