HELP Optimizing Large UE4 World

Hey everyone… I have a doozy for you. PLEASE assist if you have some time. Hopefully this can also help others who are trying to do similar things. If you want to skip the intro information, my specific questions are bolded in RED.
(Disclaimer: This is for educational purposes only and the game we are creating will not be distributed or sold commercially.)

I am a graduate student enrolled in an advanced Landscape Architecture studio course entitled “Exploring the Konza Prairie as a 4D Virtual Reality Learning Environment.” For this course, we have elected to use Unreal Engine 4 as our visualization software.

What we are trying to do is to create an educational and interactive gaming experience about a nature preserve called the Konza Prairie located in Manhattan, Kansas. This landscape is part of the Tallgrass Prairie ecosystem, which is considered one of the most endangered on the planet, as large-scale agricultural practices have plowed most land in this area for crop production. Therefore, our work is part of a critical advocacy effort to educate people about the importance of the prairie in terms of biodiversity, carbon sequestration, soils, controlled burns, bison grazing, and watershed research. That’s the short synopsis of why we are doing this and I welcome any questions you may have about this.

We are a group of landscape architecture, education, and a few computer science students all collaborating intensely on this game, however we do not have any experience with Unreal. As such we have been combing through forums and tutorials in search of ways to do this, and I have to say I am proud of where we have gotten in just one short semester.
However, I wanted to run this by the experts, because we are currently experiencing major performance problems with our large landscape such as placing procedural foliage, enhancing textures and materials, and optimizing for a Virtual Reality HMD, the Oculus Rift.