Help me find the right search term, looking for general programming organizational overview

Hi, I am a blueprint programmer with little traditional programming experience.

I am rebuilding the “game manager” scripts for my game. Previously I have made a working system and it is fine, but it is a little harder to maintain than I think it could be because I have not used a consistent discipline. I made things up as I went along since this is my learning project.

I am having trouble finding the sort of high level information I seek though. I thought design-patterns might be the correct terminology but that seems more game design focused or returns stuff that is so jargon heavy it’s like different language to me.

What I would like to accomplish is to use a consistent discipline for blueprint communications - i.e. if looking at my code six months from now, even if I dont remember how everything works, I’ll understand that, for instance, X class actors would always send interface messages and Y class actors would always receive messages and run their own logic, etc.

I am familiar with all of the blueprint communication tools which exist, but since i have been learning as I go with this project, it is currently a hodepodge where sometimes I communicate using casting, other times an event dispatcher, and some times the game manager runs events and other times actors in the level run events.

It is small enough I can live this way but I know that things can be done in a more consistent manner. I would like to find some examples of that if possible, especially some high level, plain language overviews if possible.

Performance and hyper - modularity isn’t a real concern here. This is a soloist project and pretty small in scope. I just want to take another step closer to easier to maintain, clean code is all.

Can anybody recommend some article or video wihich might lay out some best practices? Or let me know a good search term?

Thanks

update: