Help me decide what 3D modeling software is the best fit for my needs

Hi, I’ve been reading a lot lately about differences between some 3D modeling softwares, mostly between Maya and 3DSMAX, and I’m still undecided about which one would be the best fit for my needs. The only use I will give it is to be able to create the assets needed for a game I’m starting to develop.

This are the considerations:

• My models wont have complex animations.
  • I need to do some landscapes, nothing very big though.
  • I’ve never used any 3D modeling software before.
  • I have no humanoid characters, only some creatures maybe.
  • the textures used in the game wont be of a high complexity nor have a realistic aesthetic, think of something like Super Smash Brawl level of detail.

Any help is welcomed!.

any modelling software will fit your needs, the best advice would be to try them both and find the one your most comfortable using.

I personally find 3ds more user friendly, but as mentioned, the best way would be to try both of them. :slight_smile:
Also make sure to check out this article: ://blog.digitaltutors/3ds–vs-maya-is-one-better-than-the-other/

I was going to choose , but then I’ve read that Epic themselves use Maya (and they did a ART tool specifically for it) for everything and I thought it was a good idea to learn it instead of . But I could be wrong.

That’s a nice article , I will read it.

They also use 3ds :wink: But yep, when you want to use the art tool, you will have to learn maya.

From the sounds of your post, I am assuming you don’t want to spend 3+ thousand dollars on a 3D application.
So, Google for a free or cheap 3D Modeling Program.
I would suggest Blender, I think it exports to Unreal Engine.

Theres a third which is Blender! I keep hearing its as good as 3DS and completely free, no licenses to deal with etc