Help: Jumping AI that always takes the shortest path to the player

Feel free to skip to the part that you want to read :slight_smile:

Introduction
Hi,
I am currently studying Game Design and I have to work on my own project over a period of 18 weeks. The goal of the project is to learn something new and to get out of the comfort zone. Since we only worked with Unity for two years Ive decided to pick up the Unreal Engine. I want to create a game on my own and learn how to work with Unreal and its Blueprint system.
To make it short: I am a Game Designer who wants to create a fast-paced Shooter. I have never worked with Unreal until Ive started with this project and I am not a programmer (but I do understand the logic behind it, Ive studied Computer Science for a year).

Whats the status of the project?
I have a simple prototype. I can run around, dash, slide and use a grappling hook. I have a pistol with animations working based on line tracing and with it I can shoot enemies and kill them. I have created my own point system which for example gives the player more points depending on how fast he is moving.
The AI behavior is really basic. Its a simple move to the player and if they are close enough to the player he recieves damage.

What do I want?
I would like to have a level with platforms on different heights. Similar to a level in the latest Doom. But the AI only walks on the nav mesh. So if as the player jump on a platform the AI has to take a longer path to take the stairs to reach my position. I want to find a solution for the AI to jump up (or down) on the platform to reach the player’s position faster.

What have I tried?
I started with searching on Google and Youtube for some tutorials or ideas to tackle my problem. But I wasn’t able to find anything good. Except for this series: