Help I'm So Messy (Organization)

So I started using UE4 about half a year ago and I’ve bee learning primarily through experimentation. Here’s my game so far: https://twitter.com/qdeanc/status/729787356551610368

The problem is that I’m also super messy: Screenshot - 608ce4a6b5a093ef53a915e26d396444 - Gyazo

Can someone give me some tips on how to get organized? So many of my variables are scattered around and referenced that I ended up putting all of my programming in one Blueprint.

I’m also new to UE4, but as a programmer I can tell you that making functions helps a lot: for exaple if you have a part of code that makes you character move, make a function. If you have to check some numbers to see if you can do an action, make another function. If you need your character to take damage, you guessed it, make another one and so on. If you need to use timers that just make a macro instead beacause you can’t put timers into functions if I’m not wrong.
I also see a lots of wires going all the way across you screen. You shouldn’t to that, you are just making everything confusing. Just store the information you need in a variable so you can get it and place the node close to where you need the data to be, and if you are making a function you can make local variables so you don’t get hundreds of variables in places where you won’t need them.
Now for the references: I have no idea about what’s the best way to do it (as i said i’m new to UE4), but I usually make a reference to my GameState blueprint in the event “begin play” of every actor, and in there I store every important reference or data, so if some other blueprint needs them I know I’ve stored it there and i can easilly get it. You can also expose variables on spawn so the creator can pass data to the created blueprint immediately.
I hope I helped a bit (and I also hope i didn’t mess my english up to much, if so, sorry about that, I tried to be as clear as possible :b )