Help! First day ever using Unreal Engine!

I’ve been doing 3D design for about 2 years and for those 2 years, I’ve used Unity as my game engine. Today has been my very first day ever using Unreal Engine.
It’s amazing, fun to use, A LOT to it, and I’m really enjoying it.

However when ever I bring a file over, I import a file that was from Maya, as a FBX and there is a issue.
There seems to be like black lines going through all of my geometry’s polygons. And Im not sure what it is.

I looked into it a little it may be the normals in maya? im not sure.
I have even looked it up online and have yet to see much about it.

On them model it’s self, I did smooth out edges and I then harden some other edges to give it a look like its a Torch.

Here’s an image to show what I mean.

Please oh the gods of Unreal forums, help me so!
I would very much appreciate it.

Hi ! First of all, welcome aboard. Glad to hear you’re enjoying the engine tool set.

Assuming you’re talking about these recurring lines:

://puu.sh/8LDbl.jpg

Have you tried applying another texture/shader?

The model itself looks fine otherwise that I can tell.
-It’s probably note worthy I’m not a 3D artist, rather a programmer.

When you export from Maya, did you enable Smoothing Groups? You need that option enabled.

Hey Hawkeye,

Thanks for the welcome! I really am thankful and I look forward to using these forums for help and guidance.

No, it’s not those lines. It’s more of these dark lines and darkened out spaces.

And when I try adding a new texture or material to it, it does this!

It only looks none messed up when I change the the view mode from lit to unlite:

when exporting it, I have smooth group turned on.
screen-shot-04.jpg

I can’t tell if it has something to do with normals or lighting or what.

Thanks to you all so very much!

-add a lightmass importance volume and raise your lightmap resolution
-also make sure that you have a 2nd uv channel with a proper lightmaps
-and build your light