Help creating a dodge roll

Hi,

S i’ve browsed the forums a little, watched a lot of youtube videos suggesting how to do this, but i can’t figure out how to create a dodge roll that works for me. I’ve tried using timelien’s with lerps, i’ve tried just using a ‘move component to’ on my character’s capsule component and I’ve tried using 'launch. I’ve found that all have worked fairly well after a bit of tweaking until you try and dodge off a height, at which point everything falls apart and you either float in mid air until it’s done then fall, or you launch for miles.

i was wondering what the best way to account for gravity mid roll would be. i’m very new to timelines and how they work but i assume it’s something to do with that.

Do you have the roll animation?

I’d say you just move your character as if he were standing on the ground, and use the roll/dodge animation, even if it looks like he’s leaping and no longer touches the ground.

And you can use a timeline to change the velocity accordingly, let’s say it’s 1000 at the moment the character jumps, and then slows down to the default movement value. You may even try disabling input until the roll is over.

i don’t actually have an animation for it yet no. i’m just not happy with it looking like he’s floating in mid air.

I know i could use animation blueprints to make him roll only when he lands, but how would i go about checking when he’s in the air instead of on the ground. and surely I could use that to just give the player some downward momentum when he’s left solid flooring.