Health bar test, Simple damage via trigger.

Hello peoples. I have a HUD with a health bar and I want to test it.
How would I go about doing this?
I have a the fire asset in the scene and a trigger volume over the fire.
fire trig.JPG

In my level Blueprint I have this:

The print “OUCH!” works fine but the player doesn’t receive damage. I’m new to Blueprints which seams quite different to kismet.

how would I get working? thanks!

Try dragging the Other Character pin to the Damaged Actor pin. I’m not 100% familiar with damaging characters, but that’s the first thing I’d attempt.

Also, it’s best to put the Print String after the thing you want to test so you know if it got stuck before that spot. In your example, the string will always print despite what damage is done.

Hey, I did what you said but it doesn’t seam to work. I also put the print string after the damage and it still shows up as “OUCH!” but doesn’t deal damage!

:S any ideas?

Just tried in the ShooterGame sample and you need to hook up a ‘GetPlayerCharacter’ to the ‘Damaged Actor’ pin in the ‘Apply Damage’ node. Here’s an image of what it looks like for me:

Damage.png

Also, connecting ‘Other Actor’ from the trigger worked for me as well and is likely safer to do since you may have changed your player index. I always make sure it’s set to 0 for my SP games, but I think MP requires multiple for each player.

Gooner is right about that. You could also plug the Other Actor right into Damaged Actor, so that anything that has health that enters the volume will be hurt. That is good for environmental damages, like fire or spikes.

Hmmm that is very strange. I have a health bar but I don’t think the actual health is set up for my character. How would I go about doing this?
?v=s423ydn3t_E
tutorial breifly goes over the Health bar but doesn’t specify anything to do with the actual pawns health.

In the defaults of my pawn there is this:

At the bottom there is health. If I set to 100 still nothing happens.