have a single bone follow the player character

Hi guys, i am searching for a way to have a statues head follow the player movement. i searched for a solution but havnt really found one.
i am very new to this, but i guess i will have to set up a simple rig for this in 3dsmax and import it to fbx.
i would only create one bone for the statue body and one bone for the head.
is it possible to adress the head bone via blueprint and have it orient towards the active player.
best would be to have a degree range for this to limit the movement of the head otherwise it would look to silly if the statue has its head bend 180 ° to the back :wink:
any hints are very welcome !!

kind regards
stucki

Yes it’s possible. You need two things: an Animation BP where you can control behavior of the bone and regular BP that will control when AnimBP should run it’s code.
Check this tutorial to get a glipse of how it works.
https://docs.unrealengine.com/latest/INT/Videos/PLZlv_N0_O1ga0IoRrpI4xkX4qmCrhGu56/gwD66cYmwQE/

In BP you can check if player is at some desired distance from the statue, or if he is directly visible, or any other condition you are interested it. Then you can pass this condition as a variable to Animation BP, perhaps with a reference to the player that statue needs to follow, or just direction vector it should look at. Passed variables then used in AnimBP to turn the bone. Basically it’s like you have two separate BPs that talk to each other but do different parts of the work.

thx for the answer. this helps a lot.
Maybe you could add some info how to adress the bone and set its direction vector so it points to the player character (there is only one) :wink:
kind regards
stucki

I think there was LookAt() function in AnimBP, but it works only for looking at bones of the same skeleton (might have changed). Otherwise you can calculate LookAt rotation in BP and pass it to AnimBP as variable. Check this tutorial, I think it does something that you need: