Handling Player Joins Mid-Game

Hello everyone,

I’m relatively new to Verse and coding so I’d appreciate any guidance.

I’m working on a fighting map with 2 teams and 16 custom rounds, all managed through Verse. Instead of using UEFN’s built-in round system, I’m running all 16 custom rounds within a single UEFN round.(UEFN built-in rounds are too slow)

Here’s an overview of the game flow:

1. Game Start Area - all players spawn here in the begining and end of the 16 custom rounds
  2. Team Selection - choose their team
  3. Loadout Voting - vote fot loadout
  4. Start of all 16 rounds - teleport to round area
  5. After all rounds over, players respawn in the Game Start Area to rematch or find a new match

I’m looking for advice on how to handle players who join mid-game.
I’d like to allow players who join before the Team Selection stage to spawn in, while any players joining after this stage should spectate until the current game (all 16 custom rounds) over.
After the final round, all players, including spectators, will respawn in the game start area

Any tips or recommendations would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks in advance!

1 Like

Alright, from personal experience, you shouldn’t put players in spectators during 16 rounds :smiley: (not even 2 rounds imo)
But it depends on the length of the rounds I guess. If the rounds are long and you need to keep that spectate mechanic because the gameplay cannot be designed otherwise, I’d suggest either :

• Enabling and Disabling Matchmaking dynamically using the Round Settings Device*
  • Giving an alternate thing to do while they wait for the current rounds to end (UI or ig minigame / training…)

It’s a good thing that you did your own round system, so congrats on that :clap: