Download

Hair Groom help

Hello everyone,
I modeled/rigged/animated a character in Maya and tried out the xgen hair experimental thing in Unreal. I’m still pretty new to Unreal so I was hoping I could get some help with a few questions.

First I cant get the hair to interact with the mesh, so in most animations it starts cutting into the character’s back. I see the collision tab under the groom settings in blueprint, but switching them all on and off doesn’t seem to have any effect at all.

On the note of the question above, I previously tried out the Nvidia hairworks thing. It was a little problematic, but the hair would “sim” when in unreal and you could set wind parameters if you wanted. Can we do that with this or is it just locked in?

And also I cant find a way to make the hair cast sshadows on itself and the model. So I end up seeing directly down to her scalp too easily. I also see a lighting tab with a ton of shadows options in the groom settings, but again nothing seems to change if I switch things on and off.

Thanks for any help! If it helps I would gladly share my screen in a skype call if you think it would help by looking at it.

Thanks yeah I found the documentiation to add the niagara effects node to the groom to get it to sim. I think it is after that where I hit the wall of it being experimental. Unreal starts to crash non stop until I remove it. Plus I get some wonky results.
Thanks

how to apply texture on groom like tiger

Hey,

I only started yesterday to play with the groom, i used blender to make the hair and got it working in unreal until the physics part like you. The issue is indeed the physics collision shapes in the skeletal mesh and i had to remake mine to get the desired result. However it is still only a workaround in my eyes, as it should be possible for hair to directly interact with the mesh to get best results.

The first video shows the issue i faced with wonky collisions: https://youtu.be/GWbQsnO8sN8

and this was my setup: