Gun pickup to Spawn Gun and attach to actor works. Shooting it doesnt. Wat!?

Posted this in Answerhub too but I think having a fancy thread might be better.

Hello all. I’m new to the magical world of blueprints (it’s fantastic!) so I’m pretty much a beginner so I’ve been following various tutorials online and I’ve set up a bunch of things which has been a blast, Now I’m stumped however and need your expertise.

I’m picking up a gun in the world (Gun_01_pickup) and by using it from my inventory I spawn and attach (Gun_01_Blueprint with hopefully all future mechanics and gunlogic) to my character. This character then uses a BP interface (which i’ve assigned to all BP’s) to send a fire weapon event (via the character blueprint). This fire event doesn’t trigger in my gun blueprint. I know the blueprint is loaded because the model is different and it triggers if i put an event tick on it. My mechanics are as following… Step by step.

You can pick up a weapon and get it placed in your inventory. Using it despawns this item (Gun_01_Pickup) and spawns the real one (Gun_01_Blueprint) on your character and sends out an equipped bool true.

**GUN PICKUP-BLUEPRINT

I then use this to check if the weapon is equipped and react accordingly. It works, everything prints as it should.

**PLAYER BLUEPRINT

When I equip my gun it plays the sounds and the model is different so I know that works but I can’t figure out at all why the fire weapon event from the blueprint interface isn’t working. I’ve tried everything, this is just a basic version of all the multiple attempts I’ve done. What am I missing?

**GUN_01_BLUEPRINT

EDIT: I realize some stuff should probably be in the gun_blueprint, like anything having to do with the shooting. I’m probably gonna juggle it around at some point but right now I just want it to work. I’ve actually moved the sound effect into the gun now but still haven’t figured out the fire event.