GONE Racing

Hello Everyone,

I would like to make a racing game called “GONE Racing”.
It will be a retro themed game with the look and feel of 1998-2002 games like Need for Speed 3: Hot Pursuit and Gran Turismo 2.
This idea has been in my head for a long time now and with Need For Speed World closing down its servers I though I’d look into making my own game.
I did some research on game engines and though this one would probably do nicely, I am also a big fan of Unreal Tournament.

Since I have no experience with this engine I will be writing down my ideas here hoping more experienced users can tell me more about whether or not they are possible.
I am a 2d/texture artist and know nothing about programming and very little about 3d modelling, so I will need a lot of help with this project.
If you are interested in making a retro style racing game, please contact me.

Back story:
Gone Racing takes place on a fictional island nation, the inhabitants of which are completely obsessed with racing.
To prevent illegal street racing the government set up an amateur racing league, where beginning racers can enter in their own cars and race on selected roads.
You are new on the island and with some life savings you buy a car to enter this racing league with the intention of becoming #1.

Gameplay:
This game will focus more on cheaper cars and customisation instead of the expensive race cars in most other games.
This will not be a driving simulator, it will feature the most realistic feel possible with minimum physics and keeping it controllable with keyboard.

Styling:
Why the retro theme?
First of all, retro is very popular at the moment.
Secondly it will be easier to make a lot of content more quickly.
Thirdly it will allow the game to run on less powerful PCs and maybe even mobile devices.

Customisation:
One of the things I would like is lots of customisation.