Global Variables for every Blueprint scripts?

Hi everyone,

Please forgive me I’m pretty new in Blueprint. is there a way to declare a set of global variable like colors and strings that I can call in specific blueprints?
Basically I’m creating an interface and I would like to get the same set of colors and datas instead that change the same colors, names and datas for each blueprint script.

Many thanks

You could create a Blueprint function library that provides functions that just return the desired values.

1 Like

Can you please share an example?

any example or solution?

You can set them in the game mode and pass them to the game state. Then Get Game State -> Variable

Every Variable you create inside a Game Instance can be get/set globally and is persistent.
​​​​​

Ok this is because I need to have same colors and strings for every control in the interface. So let me try to create variables in the game instance, but how can I get them in a blueprint?

First go to Project Settings and under Maps & Modes set your Game Instance to be the default one. Then you have two options, one is to “Get Game Instance > Cast To NameOfYourGameInstance” and get the variables that you need, the other option is to create a Blueprint Function Library and inside it create a new function that does the same thing and connect it to be the return value, after which you can simply call it from any blueprint.

I cannot get my variable to a blueprint code. Could you please share an image?

Ok so basically this is what I need to do and it is the common work in every development stage.

• Declaring some global color variables in GameInstance
  • Change the UI based on those variables

Could you please share an example?

Like this:

1. Make your game instance, right click in content browser and create a blueprint:

1. Open your game instance and put variables in it. I made one called GlobalFloat and set it to 23.6

1. It’s accessible anywhere, like this:

1 Like