Git Noobie Too - How does this magic work?!

Hi there everyone.

Just made my first edit of the source files and I was wondering what the hell to do next.

So I downloaded the Github for Windows, Downloaded the repo (It downloaded them all aparently). I opened Master and then opened it in Explorer. I made the edits I need to do. But how do I now submit these changes to Epic?

I feel so dumb but if someone were to point me in the right direction, I’d be extremely pleased!

• Ryan

Push it to your repo and create a pull request from there.
Also Epic recommends creating pull request into the master branch.

So push it (I have no idea what you mean, But I’ll give it a google!) to my repo and then P.R to the Master, right?

Sorry about the questions, Just want to make sure I don’t mess anything up. This is my first time dabbling in this voodoo magic!

Or, one application that has been immensely helpful for our artists is a program called SourceTree(http://www.sourcetreeapp.com/)

Instead of doing things on the command line, or using the horribly designed Git Gui, this source browser makes working with Git a lot easier.

https://try.github.io/levels/1/challenges/1

There is no way around it, unless you learn the git fundamentals, using a GUI will only bring you so far. As soon as you hit a problem you’ll be clueless. I’ve included an interactive git tutorial above. Yes, it is command line, but it is the easiest and fastest way to properly learn how git works, unless you like copying StackOverflow posts.

Just to confirm, are you actually wanting to have your alterations looked at by the Epic team and then potentially integrated into a future release of the engine?