Getting Used To Unreal4

Hi all,

I’m a student with a background in Unity development, trying to get used to Unreal 4. I have no desire to use blueprints, so this question is regarding C++ programming.

I’m having some trouble with the fact that Unreal seems to do a lot of things automatically. Currently, I have a very simple scene, composed of a floor, a directional light and a skydome. Coming from Unity, I would expect to see a black screen when hitting ‘Play’. In Unreal, however, hitting Play causes all kinds of things to be instantiated in the scene. PlayerController, CameraActor, DefaultPawn, GameNetworkManager, GameSession, PlayerState, etc. Suddenly, I have a camera, along with WASD and mouse controls, none of which I implemented. This leaves me rather confused, and feeling out of control. Also, the game I am making doesn’t actually need a player character (I believe this would be the Pawn), as it is something like an RTS, where the player controls units from a top-down camera perspective.

I have the feeling that, in order to take control over these things, I need to be overriding certain classes, but I can’t seem to find out which ones. I succesfully derived from the GameMode class and implemented the StartPlay() function, and set my GameMode class as the default game mode to be loaded. All the options under ‘Selected GameMode’ (in Project Settings-> Maps & Modes…), however, are greyed out.

Am I missing something fundamental here? How can I take full manual control over what my camera is doing, as well as disable the automatic Pawn spawning?

Any help would be much appreciated :slight_smile:

Hello Escaran,