Getting terrain at runtime

Is it possible to edit the terrain at runtime ideally with Blueprint?
I have search the forums and found this was asked a long time again and few people also added to it in 2019.
I am fairly new to Unreal (completed a couple online courses) and coming from Unity background, which you can alter the terrain at runtime. Ideally be nice if you can do it Blueprints as that’s what I have used mostly with Unreal, although I have used C++ many years ago if required.
I’m looking at starting a project, which I would like to use Unreal and in the process gain some more experience, but I want to be able to alter the terrain at runtime.

Many thanks,
Lee

Looks like you want things to happen in the construct part of a blueprint rather than in the event graph.
have a look at this

Thanks for the reply, however I’m not quite sure how this helps me. Unity has a GetHeights and SetHeights method of the terrain data which you can use to get and set the terrain height at runtime.
For my project, I want to be able to generate a world on game start then allow the player to raise and lower the terrain. It seems crazy that given how feature rich Unreal is for it to lack such functionality.

Many thanks,
Lee

Try to search “Voxel plugin” or similiar for Unreal Engine 4

A custom system with octree and height maps is probably the way to go.
You need to fine-tune performance and triangle count on it, as well as a material/layering system.

At a base level you can always just use the same concept of the current landscape.

The heihtmap is used to offset verticis.
An alpha mask image is applied to provide the “layers”/material system.

You won’t find any good solutions out there specific to the engine.

voxel plugins are the way to go if you aren’t proficient in c++, and even then, honestly.
Much easier to just use a plugin that’s already optimized - assuming it is, ofc.