Getting started with Lyra

I have successfully downloaded and started the Lyra starter game in UE5-0. I am a beginner and I want to learn how to create games with UE5. I thought that a good starting point would be Lyra, because it was promoted in the State of Unreal video of April 5th.

I can successfully start playing a preview of Lyra in the UE5 editor. I see that there is a level selection and then a map with bots shooting at me, etc. I wonder how I can access this level in the UE5 editor like it was done in the State of Unreal video. In this video someone showed how a mesh can be procedurally generated and then turned into a static mesh. I would like to build procedural meshes too and then turn them into static meshes. Furthermore I would like to learn from Lyra how to code an AI enemy and everthing else that is part of Lyra. If someone could show me how to get started with Lyra and editing it, it would be great. Thank you in advance! Perhaps someone could create a tutorial about Lyra. That would be awesome.

Kind regards

3 Likes

I have the same issue, i can’t find the level like in the showcase video.

1 Like

Hi @Ragusch1 and @Sicco0803 !

When a file is well hidden and hard to track down, you can always trust the filters inside the content browser. In your case specifically, click on the root folder called All and then add a level filter.

The result of adding this filter will show you all the levels in the selected folder. The one you would probably want is L_Expanse

If you double-click it and open it, it will probably seem like it is a blank map, so be sure to load all the cells in the World Partition panel to see the whole map (Window → World Partition → World Partition Editor)

If it’s the first project where you are using Unreal Engine, I would recommend checking the talk that was also released today called Your first game in Unreal Engine 5