Getting grip on the learning process

Hi all,

I’m still new to Unreal Engine but allready followed lots of tutorials.
I followed all kinds of tutorials on different subjects to get a better understanding of the
different parts of the engine. But after following all these tutorials I still don’t understand the most common workflow.
With that I mean, with which part should I start building the game. Should I start with building the gameinstance followed by building the menu, then the next step etc. etc.
What is the common workflow for developing games in Unreal?

Hope someone can help me out.

I think first, you need to create a GDD (Game Design Document), and create a first level, maybe just with paper. Just think about your ideas, and what do you want to do.
Then you’ll be able to understand what you need to do to achieve your goal. :slight_smile:
Take time and don’t rush steps. (here is a well exemple of GDD, with explainations : http://trickgs.com/blog/how-to-write-a-game-design-document/)

Hi Elkantor, thx for the link, this comes in handy.

But what I meant is what is the more common workflow inside Unreal Engine itself? Start with building the menu? Or with the gameinstance etc. If I understand the more overall workflow then I might be be able to wrap my mind around all the different processes and connect them all together.

For me, create the menu arrives near from the end of the development. You should first have a strong protocol, so, even a poor UI is fine, until the gameplay itself is fun.
For my part, I usually start with the character’s skeleton and the animations, if you develop a game focus on a main character (of course). And then, I try to create the gameplay in itself with all the interactions with objects and the world, but I don’t polish it for now. I just want to have something which works. And then, comes level design…

But it’s just my way of working, when I want to develop a game’s prototype/experience alone.