Getting a Vector from my Player

Hey! I am pretty new to C++ programming in Unreal and was wondering how I could get this to work. I am trying to get a Vector from the players camera. I did the following:

FVector AWeapon::GetFirePosition()
{
	AFPSCharacter* pl = OwnerPawn ? Cast<AFPSCharacter>(OwnerPawn) : NULL;
	FVector FPos = pl->FirstPersonCameraComponent->GetComponentLocation();
	return FPos;
}

Which is inspired by this:

FVector AShooterWeapon::GetCameraAim() const
{
	AShooterPlayerController* const PlayerController = Instigator ? Cast<AShooterPlayerController>(Instigator->Controller) : NULL;
	FVector FinalAim = FVector::ZeroVector;

if (PlayerController)
	{
		FVector CamLoc;
		FRotator CamRot;
		PlayerController->GetPlayerViewPoint(CamLoc, CamRot);
		FinalAim = CamRot.Vector();
	}
	else if (Instigator)
	{
		FinalAim = Instigator->GetBaseAimRotation().Vector();		
	}

return FinalAim;
}

Its mainly the “?” and “Instigator->Controller” that are putting me off. How can I cast it so that it also works with my Character class? Would really appreciated it if someone helped me with this! Thank you in advance.

“?” is the ternary operator.

it works like this:

(Evaluation) ? (Do this if Evaluation is true) : (Do this if evaluation is false)

As for “Instigator->Controller”, Instigator is a pointer to some actor class, and Controller is a member of the Instigator class.
The operator “->” is sort of analogous to the dot “.” operator in that you can access members of a pointer.

The code can be rewritten as follows:

AShooterPlayerController* const PlayerController
FinalAim = FVector::ZeroVector;

// Check that Instigator is not null
if(Instigator)
{
    // Cast the Instigator's Controller (Instigator->Controller) to AShooterPlayerController
    PlayerController = Cast<AShooterPlayerController>(Instigator->Controller);

// Check that our cast player controller is not null
    if(PlayerController)
    {
		FVector CamLoc;
		FRotator CamRot;
    }
    else
    {
    }