Get Var From Different Blueprint?

Hey guys. Could someone tell me how to get a var in one BP from another? I’ve been told that it involves casting, but I don’t really know how to use that for this. Could someone give me a detailed answer on this? Sorry, I’m a complete noob here. Thanks!

Casting is a bit weird at first, but think of it like casting an actor to play a ‘role’, the ‘role’ being your blueprint script. The role is the specific character acting out the script, and the actor is any blueprint actor.

Casting allows you to basically choose a specific actor, and then get details about that actor. You can control which you are doing through the input and outputs.

Let’s say you want to make it so when overlap with an enemy, this enemy gives you a certain value of credits, and you can set this value in the world. Make a Enemy blueprint, and create a variable, integer or float named CreditValue, and make it’s value 20, and click make it Editable. Make sure the enemy has a collision box. Now put some enemies in the world and, with each individual selected, give them a random value for CreditValue in the world (since you made it editable, you can do so on the right in the Details pane)

Now we will get that value from the player when we collide with the enemies collision box. We will do it using casting so we can get the specific values you set in the world.

With your main pawns static mesh selected, go to where you create new events, and create a new event Event Begin Overlap.

From this, drag off the Other Actor node, and search for == (actor). Click that. Make sure it’s connected to the top portion, and in the bottom portion, search for your blueprint ‘enemy’. Drag off the exist node, and search Cast To (enemy).