Get SpringArmComponent relative rotation no longer works

Hi,

So according to this thread, the SpringArmComponent is no longer changing relative rotation when moving around the target (like the Character in a TPP setup).

The GetControlRotation() and the GetBaseAimRotation() on the Pawn are all returning rotation in world space, which is not what I’m after.

Does anyone know an easy way to get the relative rotation of an attached SpringArmComponent?

Hey, I’m a newbie to unreal, but doesn’t “Get relative rotation” work for you?

I used this successfully in my blueprints. I.E.:

Hope this helps. :slight_smile:

Hi @EU_Coxis , thanks for your input!

Which engine version are you using? I am using 4.18 (sorry, forgot to mention in the original post), and according to the answerhub page I have linked, the SpringArmComponent’s behavior has been changed and the GetRelativeRotation() method returns a zero rotator by design.

From the answerhub by Natalia form Epic:

Which is fine, but it broke everything that was relying on the relative rotation of the SpringArmComponent.

How can I get the relative rotation of a SpringArmComponent relative to the parent.?

Hey @Kontur , sorry for the late response. Apparently they need to approve my first few posts on the forums.

I am also using UE 4.18 and the “get relative rotation” works for me. I made 2 videos for you to see how that works for me. The first one is my blueprint setup, in which you can see how I use that relative rotation to turn my character if the 3rd person spring arm is exceeding my 134 degrees threshold to the left or right of the character.

In the second video, you’re able to see the actual output of that rotation of the 3rd person spring arm relative to my character capsule, whatever it’s world rotation is. :slight_smile:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AdvcnDlhoSw

Hope this helps you in your endeavour. :slight_smile:

Thanks again, @EU_Coxis !