Get Forward Vector for Attached Actor Not Working (for me)

Hi all,

I am wondering if anyone has a moment to tell me what I am doing wrong here? I’m still fairly new to UE, so it could be a simple fix - I’m not sure. Any help would be greatly appreciated because I have now spent a whole day trying to figure this out :stuck_out_tongue:

I have a vehicle blueprint and a virtual camera blueprint. I need to be able to attach the virtual camera to the vehicle, so that when the vehicle moves/rotates around the level, the virtual camera goes with it and can then be rotated/changed location, relative to the vehicle. I have managed to get the linking to work, however no matter what settings I have tried, once I trigger the link, I cannot get the virtual camera to move in a consistent direction. It starts moving to the right (when I am trying to tell it to move forward, relative to the camera view. When I spin the vehicle 180 degrees, it does the opposite).

Anyone know a way to set this up that would work? Thanks in advance!

Screenshots below –

Wild guess, have you tried different location/rotation rules? Maybe keeping the relative loc/rot is giving unsual behaviors.
Have you checked the facing direction of your virtual camera? Is your virtual camera a child of the scene component?

Are you able to string the values of the location in from your Finterp?

Hey there,

Thanks for the quick response!

To answer your questions:

I believe I have tried every combination of those options settings. Nothing has worked so far.

I ran a print string of the forward vector value for both the vehicle and the camera. Here are the results. Camera is in RED.

https://vimeo.com/499050960/4c29db2add

Correct, the virtual camera is a the child of the scene component.

Print string values are between 0-1 for the FInterp. Is that what you mean? That’s from taking the return float value out of the FInterp and piping it into a print string.