Get all children classes of a BP in a function library

I’m brand new to the Unreal 4 API and C++ is still a new language to me, so I do most of my work in blueprints and my team does all of their work in blueprints.

Everything is going fine until we came across the problem that for an item crafting system for an RPG we need a way to get all children classes of a blueprint class.

Basically my jr scripter created the core setup for the crafting system by creating a BP_masterCraftingRecipie class from the actor class. It holds a struct with all the information such as an unlocked bool, class to spawn, barsIron needed int, craftinLvlRqd int etc.

So he went ahead and created about 50 children classes that all inherit from that master class for all the items we currently have craftable.

Then onto me, the GUI guy. So I set it up so that we have an unlocked and locked “recipie list” in scrollboxes. Obviously I dont want to manually add hundreds of widgets and the logic associated with them 1 button by 1 button at a time. I’d rather just basically

pseduo BP script**

OnConstruct()
{
RecipieArray ChildClass = GetAllChildClasses(BP_masterCraftingRecipie)
forEach(ChildClass)
{
if(Unlocked == true) { AddToChild(ScrollBoxWidget, RecipieButton) }
else { AddToChild(ScrollBoxWidgetLocked, RecipieButton) }
}
}

And for the recipie button widget it would go something like

pseduo BP script**

forEach(ChildClass""...
Break craftingRecipeStruct & getRecipeName
set ButtonText = getRecipieName

So that basically everytime the game is run, it iterates through every BP child class of BP_masterCraftingRecipie, gets the “recipieName” member of the strut variable it holds (inherited from the master class) set the button text to it (this widget is just a sizebox, button, and text on the button).

Then when the crafting screen is opened, it adds each recipie button widget with its respective name and when its clicked it gets that specific childs class struct info and displays it.