Get Actor Component Reference in C++ Class

In like the BeginPlay of ComponentB you can do

A = GetOwner()->FindComponentByClass<ComponentA>();
2 Likes

I have made two ActorComponent Class in Unreal Engine and attached them to my Player Actor. I wish to include a reference for ComponentA in ComponentB. So that I may access its functions and fields. What is the pattern to do this in Unreal using C++? I am new to Unreal Engine coming from Unity and am trying to understand the pattern for referencing different actorComponent classes.

In Unity C# I could just get a component attached to the same parent using something like this:

ComponentA componentA = GetComponent<ComponentA> ();

Where ComponentA is the other component script I want a reference to in ComponentB. Both are attached to the same parent. I assume there is something similar in Unreal Engine but I can’t seem to find it.

Broadly speaking I have many component classes that will live under my Player Actor. Classes like PlayerPhysics, ActionController, InputController, IndividualAction classes, Aniimation classes and so on. I’m trying to find an effective way to access the different classes under my Player Actor.

I saw this a few places but kept disregarding it because it was said to be expensive. Is that true or is it fine for just running during BeginPlay? Cause that’s really what I want to do. In Unity I used to Start() method which has a similar function to BeginPlay.

It’s not too expensive, not even close. Some code does such lookups at runtime, so doing it within a function that’s called once for an actor is even less of a concern.

I suggest doing it in InitializeComponent rather than BeginPlay, but either should work, though I think InitializeComponent might be C++ only.

For examples
UBrainComponent::InitializeComponent()
UBlackboardComponent::InitializeComponent()

That said, if you find yourself doing such component lookups in a tick function, you should really consider caching it if possible.