GenerateProjectFiles.sh fail on Debian

Hi, I’m trying to build the UE on Debian 7.7, but I have a little problem when I call GenerateProjectFiles :

root@PC-Tavon:/home/tavon/Project/UnrealEngine# ./GenerateProjectFiles.sh
Github build
Checking / downloading the latest archives
Started downloading Optional.zip
Traceback (most recent call last):
File “Build/BatchFiles/Linux/GetAssets.py”, line 123, in
exit(download_assets(repo))
File “Build/BatchFiles/Linux/GetAssets.py”, line 99, in download_assets)
with open(asset_path, “wb”) as f:
IOError: [Errno 2] No such file or directory: u’/root/Downloads/4.5.0-release-Optional.zip’
Could not check/download binary dependencies !

All the dependencies are installed, the OAUTH_TOKEN is set and i’m in sudo. I’m a newbie to unix but I think I did it well :confused:

Thanks, Tavon.

You should never run as a root user like this, especially if you are newbie to unix, and even if you aren’t. :slight_smile:
UE4 Editor does not require elevated privileges, nor a root user account, to run.

Your error suggests that there’s no folder /root/Downloads/ which is probably expected as root user is not meant to run in a desktop environment. It appears that you’ve su-ed to root user to run GenerateProjectFiles.sh.

Just run the script as yourself (tavon) and it should find the Downloads folder in your home folder and work as intended.

You can double-check if you have the Downloads/ folder by executing the command: ls ~tavon/ (you should see Downloads in the list among other files and folders in your home folder).

Thanks for the quick answer ! However, I tried to clone and launch the sh with my account, but the error survived. I checked all the homes, there’s no download folder…

You are running some desktop environment, right? There should be a Downloads folder on all Debian based systems (I run Ubuntu). If there isn’t one then create it… :slight_smile: