GENERATED_BODY macro causes error "this declaration has no storage class or type specifier"

Hey guys,

I’m fairly new to UE and am currently busy (or at least trying to) with the 3rd Person Power-Up Game with C++ video tutorial. Already in the third assignment, after creating my first class, I’m running into problems. First, I know that the tutorial has been made using ver. 4.2, but I downloaded the 4.7 source code to accomodate for that. But now, Visual Studio/Intellisense is underlining the GENERATED_BODY macro in red, telling me that “this declaration has no storage class or type specifier”. I didn’t even edit the file! Of course, the public: access specifier is also underlined because the line before is erroneous and now it “expected a ‘;’”.

I’m so confused and also quite sure that it is some really simple thing that I just missed… :expressionless:

Please, help me?
Thanks

Does nobody have any idea? Not even the slightest?

Have you tried compiling? Basically you have to ignore intellisense errors, as these do not affect the actual compilation.

4 Likes

No, I actually haven’t tried that. :smiley: I just thought that VS wouldn’t do anything, if it encounters any errors.
Edit: When I’m back home, I’m gonna try it immediately.

Are you home yet? I’m having that error too.

5 Likes

Kinda old thread but I’ll just ask, did you have an include after your “generated.h”? Cheers.

5 Likes

Go to the root pro path,
regenerate visual studio project files again.
Warning will disappear

2 Likes

Same issue experienced on VS 2017 15.9.9. In your ‘Solution Explorer’ in the top right of VS, right click on on your main project (under the folder Games). From the context menu that comes up select ‘ReScan Solution’. This solved the problem for me on this occasion. Intellisense seems a bit flakey at times and sometimes I’ve found the best solution is to just come out of the Unreal Engine and VS and just go back in again.