General questions from a complete novice - Process of making clothing and armor

Hi, I’ve been making basic mechanics for a game for a couple of months and I’ve hit a point where I’m limited by the assets available to me. I’m going to start learning Blender, -to which I am completely new- and have a pretty general question: What is the order of operations, or workflow, for making a character model with clothing physics? Don’t worry, I’m not going to begin by making something like this, I’ve got plenty of simple things I want to make just to learn the program and work my way up, but eventually once I get there, I’d like to have a general idea of what order to do things in.

1. I am going to have lots of knightly armor, and my game will have four different equipment slots (arms, legs, chest, head armor). I’m just curious if I should model each of those 4 parts separately, all connected, or if it even matters. If I can model the entire suit of armor at once and then “split” them apart into different parts to use independently of each other later, it wouldn’t matter. The answer might be blatantly obvious to someone who has modeled literally anything, but I haven’t.

2. It seems really easy to make clothing physics look nice once within UE4, but how do I actually go about making the part which will become affected by physics (for example, a surcoat over a breastplate)? The clothing physics documentation mentions 3DSMax/Maya/Nvidia clothing tool. But could I also use Blender for this? And does modeling things which will be affected by physics require a different process, or is it just a file type to be exported?

My assumptions currently are that I should make the armor without anything related to clothing physics, and then add that on top at a later point. Please correct me if I’m wrong, and If anyone has any tutorials which target my questions here, I’m open to watching. That’s how I’ve gotten this far after all.
Thank you.