General question about level creation

Hello all

I’m very new to game creation, and i had a question about creating the levels.
It seems everyone has their preferences, but what is (or is there) the best way to create levels for 3d games ?

• Create the “basic” rooms (walls, floors,…) in UE, then include all the static meshes (+ their collision mesh) modeled in a modeling software

• Create the whole level with collision meshes in a modeling software, then import this in UE

• Any other way ?

My questions are :

• what is the best in terms of performance (ie occuling algorithms/number of meshes) ?

• what is the most convenient process, considering there might/will be editings to the level and static meshes ?

• what kind of work is it “good” to do in UE, and what should be left to do in a modeling software ?

For example, what would be the best way to model a room such as this :
://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/1/1b/Domica_Cave_18.jpg (sorry, img is too big to display inline)
with complex walls and floors collisions, all of that would be very tedious to model in UE4. So what part of it would be made in UE, and what part in Blender ?

Thanks

I personally model everything in 3ds , bsp brushes in unreal engine i use just for blocking out rough level design then replace them with meshes as you dont need to rebuild the level to see their new position, they also are better for memory and because they can be scaled & rotated they save the need to model more walls,floors etc. It really depends on your preference and what detail is required also what are these rooms used for? game environments?, renders?.

I personally would create the meshes in your 3d program and then put everything together in the UE4 -> e.g create a cliff/rock set and build the real cliff in the UE4 (you can use those assets again at different places) :slight_smile:

rough overview:
Materials/level creating process/light -> in the UE4