General inquiries about developing a Strategy City-Builder game

I’m BRAND NEW to both game development and UE4 (but not to software and web development) and I’m interested in developing a Strategy City-Builder game.
I’m looking for general suggestions on how to go about doing that using UE4.

Since I’m so new, my 1st though was to recreate a game that I’ve played before: Caesar 4 ( the 1st five introduction scenarios ).
I figure that’ll give me a solid start towards learning the development side of things (that way I don’t also have to spend the time now developing the mechanics of my game.)

WTBS, I’m looking for some advice on how to begin this project:
I’ve watched several of the beginners tutorials about blueprints and other aspects of development using UE4, but I’m looking for some even higher level information than that.
Such as the type of project I should make this (I’m leaning towards ‘top-down’), other assets inside of UE4 or other software I should be aware of, etc.

Any suggestions from advanced users on where to start (because they know where I’ll eventually be going) would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks

After a couple of days watching tutorials and playing around with different modes of UE4, I guess my 1st specific question is:

1. What is the best way to go about creating static terrain that have a modifier that would be applied to a object placed on it?

In most SCBs, and specifically Caesar4 (the game I’m emulating as a learning tool) some portion of the map/level has specific areas that are arable land (places where fields can be placed).