General Development and Consulting (Gameplay Programming, UI, Game Design)

Disclaimer: This post is mostly up to date but it has been a while since I have been between projects, so some parts may be a bit outdated. I’ll keep updating it and will remove this disclaimer when I am done. Don’t hesitate to already contact me in the meantime though if you would like to discuss a project!

About Me

Born in 82, German, currently also located in Germany. I’m a versatile full-time freelancer primarily offering gameplay programming services, but also experienced with game- and UI-design, as well as general programming.

My approach to development is very much focused on the user experience, which means that I always look for the path of least resistance rather than getting lost in technical details. I believe that one of the keys to a successful (game) project is to identify opportunities to make the largest impact with the least amount of investment. I also care about the experience of my fellow developers and always make sure to keep my code clear and easy to maintain.

In recent years I have focused more on low-level programming and generally prefer to work with C/C++. I find that lean, custom solutions usually are a better long-term option than adopting the hidden complexity of generic abstractions, but I will always adapt to the specific situation in the most pragmatic manner.

Development Skills

• C++ and Blueprint Development

• UI / UX Design

• Game Design

• Comfortable with Source Control (Git / Subversion / Perforce) and other common project management software

• Shark taming*

Experience

• Over 20 years of general experience as a self-taught programmer with a large number of languages, frameworks, and toolkits

• Close to ten years of full-time experience as a freelance developer on Unreal Engine 4 (Blueprint and C++)

• Several years of experience as an independent game developer (Adobe AIR / Flash)