Game mode possessing the wrong actor

Hello all,

Before you point me to other threads, please read. I have spent a couple days searching documentation, as well as rewording the search criteria. Everything I have searched points to the same information.

I am fairly new, this is just a hobby for me. I have successfully made and created blueprint levels. I have some experience with C++, so I started to delve into that area in the engine.

I created a Third Person Blueprint Project, for the bulk of my level. I started with creating a C++ third person character, following the Unreal Engine tutorial document. Everything compiles and passes. I deleted the default Third Person Character from the world. Added mine.

I made sure my actor was set to level zero and using the ThirdPersonGameMode. I changed the settings in World Settings and Project Settings/Maps and Modes and made sure they were pointing to the right blueprints.

I do have a Player Start actor in my level. The Spring Arm and Camera are correctly placed.

When I press play, It possesses a camera far from my character, when I turn around it is a camera. And first person view. It shows in the game mode World Outliner, but, my Third Person character disappears from World Outliner and the level where I placed it. And I can’t possess my character in game mode using F8. Or by right clicking the camera actor that is possessed to change to my character.

I have a feeling that it is possessing the original camera from the project at creation, that I deleted from the level. I can’t find where it is to disable it and it doesn’t show in the World Outliner in Edit Mode.

If you need additional information I’d be glad to provide what I can. And thank you for your help.

Upon reading more posts, I thought it might have been a collision with the SpringArm issue. Testing this didn’t change any results.