Download

Game design model

Hello everyone! Yes even you.

Before I address why I’m making this post I want to give a bit of background. I’m a second year programming student with (somehow) lots of time on my hands. My course is 6 semesters + 12 months of co-op and I’m on semester 3 going to my 1st co-op in January. My goal is after I finish my course is to make my way into the game design industry. I’ve picked up a subscription for this engine in hopes to learn a few things that can help set me apart from others just starting out in the field. I have no delusions that I will make a fully fledged beautiful game that will top any chats.

I’m dedicating about 15 hours per week, between unit testing my projects and swing dancing, to learning this engine then progress to creating my own project. What I’m looking for here is a suggestion, or link, to a game design model of some sorts. A checklist, template, model, or something I can reference as I progress so that I am not missing some steps, or getting ahead of myself. Sadly my Google skills are not as strong and my c++ skills :stuck_out_tongue:

Thanks!
EvilCanadian

You can look for some guides on making a game design document for your idea and that can help, but there’s no real standard for the process. It matters greatly how many people are working on a project so as an individual there’s not really a guide for that.
I would spend some time just getting to know the editor and then once you know what it’s capable of and how difficult it might be for you to do things then figure out a project you want to do. It’s good to plan ahead and figure out what things are going to be difficult and what things you already know how to do.